RCEP: Harmonization of Rules of Origin and Special Goods List Indonesia-Export

RCEP - this is the abbreviation for Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership, the largest free trade agreement in the world. RCEP came into force on January 1, 2022. The primary objective of the agreement is to reduce tariffs in order to promote regional trade. Countries participating in the FTA include Japan, South Korea and ASEAN countries such as Thailand, Malaysia, Vietnam, the Philippines and Indonesia. Other RCEP members are Australia and New Zealand. Dominant country in the RCEP: the People's Republic of China.

In the meantime, the members have taken various decisions within the framework of the RCEP. For example, the member states agreed to change the product-specific rules of origin and the format of the certificates of origin to the 2022 version of the Harmonized Commodity Description and Coding System published by the WCO.

As of January 1, 2023, the shipper of export goods or its representative or the certifying authority must apply for and issue a RCEP certificate of origin in accordance with the transformed rules of origin. The approved exporter must submit a declaration of origin in accordance with the converted rules of origin.

In addition, the special goods list for export to Indonesia was added to China's special goods lists under RCEP.